Hello to any readers who are still out there … waiting. Or, even those who have long since forgotten to wait (understandably so), since waiting took so long and you forgot to delete the link. For those who didn’t know, I didn’t give up writing but decided to take a few fiction writing classes at a local university. If your fingers were crossed in hopes that I had quit writing … oops – too bad. Hopefully, the addition of slightly better grammar will slowly reel you back in. I hope to begin by posting an entry each week. Will it be the same type of content?

I hope to still post some light-hearted or humorous stories from time to time, but there has also been a change in our family structure – in August of 2022, I became a “Cat Daddy”. It wasn’t really something that I had planned on. In fact, I tried my best to avoid it – because I really love dogs, and that’s what we had planned for after we got settled back in from Bangladesh. Anyway, the unthinkable happened, and I have become a “Cat Daddy”. His name is Onyx Casanova. No, I didn’t name him, but it didn’t take long for him to let me know that it was, “Sir Onyx Casanova”.

Sir Onyx seems to think he has a story to tell, so be prepared. Sir Onyx isn’t just any cat – he thinks he’s a dog with a cat attitude. He has a vocabulary and understands more English than he admits to. We’ll be subject to Onyx’s work from time to time – as long as he is satisfied with my writing and the dictation goes well.

Stacy and I also spent two years in Dhaka, Bangladesh. I was at retirement age, and an international teaching position was offered to her – so we went. Stacy taught internationally before we were married and loved it. I studied online from Dhaka, met some really cool teachers from all over the world, and made some great Bangladeshi friends. Dhaka is one of the world’s most densely populated cities on the planet, and it was a bit scary to spend 2020 and 2021 with the Covid pandemic in full swing. People there can not afford masks, much less medical care. A short walk to the market, one mile away was scary, being shoulder to shoulder with unmasked nationals. We didn’t contract Covid there but waited until we came home, where it was “safer” to take our turns. While I was there, I started another page called, Good Morning Dhaka (Good-Morning-Dhaka). It was a great idea with the same issues I had posting material to this page – little time between studies. I still have stories to tell, and a few thousand pictures to share from.

Overall, I don’t think higher education took anything away from my writing. It did give me a more refined look at some devices of our government, but I pretty much refuse to write political crap again; I don’t like or understand the necessity of the pure hatred that it involves in our day. So, I won’t pledge what you’ll read, but I pledge not to engage in political theatrics on this page. If readers want to engage in political issues, Quora is the place to see the ridiculous nature of hatred in politics, although you’ll see more name-calling than real facts on that platform, which is a magnet for trolls.

I may also add a short story from time to time, but that may have to wait until I finish a Young Adult novel I am currently working on unless I choose a story I submitted for a grade while studying. I may also add memoir-type stories that I wrote while doubling with English and Rhetoric (non-fiction).

I hope readers can rekindle the notion of visiting the page once again, and I hope you won’t be disappointed. I would ask that readers subscribe to the page to receive new material hot off WordPress. A short form has to be completed to subscribe, but no one has ever implied that their information has been used nefariously. I would also remind readers that if they like a story, share it with their friends and ask them to subscribe. Most of all, save the link to the page, share Facebook links on your Facebook, and return often.

Welcome back to Iwantthatmountain.com. I look forward to seeing where we go from here and sharing my thoughts and/or work with readers once again. Happy 2024!

Sir Onyx Casanova